Stevenage Sporting Futures - Sports Awards

SSFT Sports Awards 2016/2017

The inaugural SSFT Sports awards were held on 3rd July 2017 at Thomas Alleyne Academy, to celebrate the successes of students, teachers, volunteers and sports teams.  The nominations were made by members of school staff and were judged by SSFT and members of the executive board.  Some categories linked to the Hertfordshire Sports Partnership (HSP) end of year awards and the winners from the SSFT awards for these or similar categories will automatically be nominated at the appropriate time for Stevenage.

Award Winners and Highly Commended

Primary School of the year

Winner – Round Diamond Primary School

Secondary School of the year

Winner – Thomas Alleyne Academy

Highly Commended – John Henry Newman School

Sports coordinator of the Year

Winner – Anne Wellings

Highly Commended – Dave Roberts and Duncan Visser

Couldn’t do sport without…

Winner – Julie Mason

Highly Commended – Danuta Kwaitowski and Klaas Luchies

Young Sports achiever of the year KS2

Winner – Alexandru Iftime

Young Sports achiever of the year KS3

Winner – Daniel  Murtagh

Highly Commended – Omo Aikeremiokha and Ellie Stone

Young Disabled sports achiever of the year

Winner – Faye Andrews

Highly Commended – Connor Ward

School Sports Team

Winner – Primary – Almond Hill Girls Football and Secondary – John Henry Newman Yr 9 Netball Team

Highly Commended – Secondary – Thomas Alleyne Yr9/10 Girls Rugby and Barnwell Yr9 Netball Team

Young Leader Award Key Stage 3/4

Winner – Jessica Baird

Highly Commended – Lottie Bertenshaw

Awards which are determined by SSFT

Apprentice of the year

Winner – Gaby Albanese

Stevenage Sports Ambassadors of the year

Winner – St Nicholas Primary School

Highly Commended – Round Diamond and Ashtree

SSFT Award

Winner – Broom Barns Primary School

Highly Commended – Larwood and St Nicholas

School Games award

Winner – Primary – St Vincent De Paul and Secondary – Barnwell

Highly Commended – Primary – Round Diamond and Codicote and Secondary – John Henry Newman and Nobel

School Games Value Award

Winner – Knebworth Primary School

Highly Commended – Peartree Spring and Roebuck

Congratulations to all our winners and highly commended.

2017/2018 awards will be on the 26th June 2018